Recently, I had a new realization about GMO foods. They’re so ubiquitous that it’s virtually impossible to avoid them. They are in most cereals. Sometimes they are the sugars in cookies, chocolate or cakes. Other times, the feed to livestock. To avoid them, I’ve been buying organic produce for more than a decade, but it didn’t dawn on me that they’re also in a box of cookies or crackers.

We all have been eating GMO foods one way or another since the early 1990s. I’m speechless. Well… okay, it’s not yet proven that they are dangerous to our health. But hear me out, I don’t like environmentally hazardous pesticides. I don’t want them in my food or clothing. Some GMO produce are created to withstand the liberal spraying of pesticides and herbicides.

Last November in 2012, there has been an attempt to require labeling GMO foods in California State, which didn’t pass, however, it made a wave of public awareness towards GMO foods. ..and here I am writing about them again.

I don’t want to get into the details (why I avoid GMO) to bore you. The bottom line: the easiest way to avoid GMO foods in the United States is to choose organic produce or products. If we are all guinea pigs, I’d rather be in the control group that doesn’t eat the GMO stuff.

The latest news on my Twitter timeline is that  the state of Washington will get I-522 (Label GMO Foods) on the 2013 Ballot. Go Washington State!!! We all deserve the right to know what’s in our food we buy. On a side note, I wish more companies opt to get Non-GMO Project verified labels on the packages.

Non-GMO Project verified

Love these organic Non-GMO beans!!!

