I love fresh berries! While we’re still in the deep freeze in New England, a local Whole Foods Market was offering some good looking fresh organic raspberries and blueberries last week. I usually stick with seasonably agreeable fruits and veggies, but they looked too good to pass.

“Well, raspberries can cure my canker sores*,” I justified myself for putting the slightly overpriced unseasonable berries in the shopping basket.

“I’d better not let these berries go bad in the fridge!”

We’ve been washing vegetables and fruits in almost too-hot-to-touch (that’s about 50°C) water before storing them in the fridge these days. According to some top Japanese chefs, soaking and washing food in 50°C water has several merits; It brings out flavors, sweetens fruits (activating the enzyme), takes the dirt off better than cold water, and makes them stay fresh longer, to name a few.

I soaked the blueberries in 50°C water for a few (2~3) minutes. Drained well. They endured the procedure and came out looking good. Raspberries are rather delicate, so I lower the temperature of the water, and soaked for less time. Carefully drained them, placed in the paper-toweled container one by one.

fresh raspberries and blueberries

Storing fresh organic raspberries and blueberries

So far so good. Berries weren’t quite at their prime yet. So I waited. For four days.

fresh berries

Stored berries looking good after four days in the fridge

Oh, they were delicious! So was the organic coconut chocolate ice cream.

chocolate coconut ice cream with fresh berries

Coconut *Bliss* chocolate ice cream with fresh raspberries and blueberries! Yum!!!

It’s been 8 days since I took the first picture of the berries, and they’re still looking pretty good to me. These particular batches might have been extra fresh. But I’ve had enough experience of letting them get spoiled in their original packages, I’ll stick with washing them right away.

stored fresh berries after 8 days

The berries are still looking good after 8 days in the fridge!

And they were fabulous!

Coconut ice cream sundae with fresh berries

Coconut *Bliss* ice cream sundae with fresh berries and homemade wild Boston Harbor blackberry sauce! Best ice cream sundae ever!

Oh, by the way, soaking peaches in 50°C water is not recommended, because they have delicate skins. Raspberries might be the same. Most other fruits do fine, including strawberries.

Thank you for stopping by!

* This is one of my recent discoveries. When I get canker sores, I usually rinse my mouth with 1/4 teaspoon of baking soda and 1/2 glass of water after every meal. Eating raspberries seem to speed up the heeling. BTW, Berries are the healthiest fruits, says Dr. Greger.

### END ###

