Lemon is my favorite fruit/herb/plant. I LOVE lemon. I even have a 9-year-old seed-grown tree in the kitchen (currently wintering), which flowered in this past February (2016).

Vegan Lemon Curd

Funny how the inspiration comes from “doing” and not the other way around. As I started making the julienned lemon zest I always keep in the freezer for “かくし味 (secret flavor)” in many of my cooking, I had a sudden urge to make vegan lemon curd.

I wanted to use agave, cane sugar, coconut oil, tapioca flour, and almond+cashew milk, all of which were at hand. Browsing through recipes online, I decided to use the one by Sean Beveridge as a guide. 

Here’s what I used: (yields 2 cups)

  • 3/4 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 1 1/2 lemon zest, finely minced
  • 1/4 cup agave
  • 3/4 cup cane sugar
  • 3 Tablespoons tapioca flour
  • 2 Tablespoons almond+cashew milk
  • 4 Tablespoons coconut oil
  1. Mix by constantly stirring fresh lemon juice and zest, agave, cane sugar, in a small saucepan on medium heat.
  2. Add tapioca flour one tablespoon at a time to mix.
  3. Add almond+cashew milk.
  4. Keep stirring for several minutes until it thickens.
  5. Add coconut oil. At first the oil float on top, but don’t worry, it will get blended into the mix in a few minutes to a consistency of a thick gravy.
  6. Pour it into clean jars, & cool in the refrigerator for a few hours.
  7. Enjoy!

Here’s a vine video.
https://vine.co/v/iXhmPvQTlJI  

Happy cooking and eating!

