kidney bean burgerKidneyBeanBurer
I’m a lazy cook who make a big pot of something, & eat off it for days. This time, I cooked 2 cups of dry kidney beans. After making a pot of chili with the first half of it, I kept reheating the pot (twice a day) to keep the cooked kidney beans from spoiling. The beans got wonderfully soft toward the end of the pot, and thought perfect for making some bean burgers.
A luck would have it, there was some leftover cooked rice, too. Perfect! I made my first burger without any recipes.

It was easy! 

Here are the ingredients I’ve used:

  • 1/2 cup well-cooked kidney beans (or 1 can drained)
  • 1/2 cup cooked shortgrain rice
  • 1/2 package of LightLife smartGround
  • 1/2+ cup panko breadcrumbs
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped onion
  • 1/3 cup finely chopped cabbage (1 leaf will do)
  • 1 teaspoon cumin powder
  • 1 teaspoon chipotle powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground time
  • 1/2 turmeric
  • A dash of blackPepper 

I mixed all the ingredients adding the panko breadcrumbs a little at a time until it was sticky enough to shape 6 burgers.

The amount of the ingredients above is a guide, and you can adjust the amount of panko to form burgers.

Here’s a vine as usual.

Another one, using a can of kidneyBeans.

Spreading 1/8 avocado makes it even tastier!

Notes: Dry beans cooked from scratch formed slightly better. The next time if I use a canned beans, I will cook them to soften them before making the burgers.

Happy cooking and eating!

