Vegan tomato mac and cheese

Vegan tomato mac & “cheese”


Looks and tastes* like mac and cheese, without cheese or nutritional yeast, is weirdly possible.

Ever since I realized cow’s milk in any amount causes me hay fever like allergy symptoms stemmed from the irritation in the bowel, I’ve been avoiding milk & milk products like plague. Recently, I heard that yeasts (baker’s, brewer’s, & nutritional) could cause irritation in some individuals susceptible with autoimmune disease. Like majority of people, I don’t have problems eating yeast. But the last time I hiked one of New Hampshire’s 4,000-footers, I couldn’t get my nose to stop running, the hay fever like symptom. I can’t say for sure, but nutritional yeast might have had a hand in it on my fatigued body after climbing Mt. Washington, the highest peak in the U.S. northeast.

A long story short, I just wanted to see if I can make mac and cheese without nutritional yeast.

Ingredients: (for 1~2 servings)

  • ‪½cup elbow‬
  • ‪½cup frozenCorn‬
  • ‪1 tomato pealed+diced‬
  • ‪¼almondCashewMilk‬
  • ‪¼cup hempHearts‬
  • ‪2tsp tapiocaFlour‬
  • ‪½tsp turmeric
  • ‪Dash oliveOil‬
  • ‪1tsp kelpPowder‬
  • ‪BlackPepper‬ to taste

The method: 

  1. Boil water in a small sauce pan. (Place a lid for faster boiling!)
  2. Add elbows in the boiling water, & stir.
  3. Wait for a few minutes, then add frozen corn to the pan, & stir.
  4. Reduce heat (to low-medium) to prevent boiling over, & cook for several minutes.
  5. Drain, and add tomato, oliveOil & almondCashew milk, hemp hearts, tapioca flour, turmeric, & kelp powder (while the stove is off), and stir.
  6. Turn on the low heat, add celery leaves, stir until creamy.
  7. Serve and add blackPepper to taste. Enjoy!

That’s all there is to it. Straight forward, & nothing fancy. I would have added frozen peas as well, but I was out of them last night. Maybe next time.

Happy cooking & eating!

* I’ve been eating vegan for 5 years, so I may taste things differently these days.

